Champions Crowned at Wednesday Night Fever
Back to Trackside News

Seth Sands
Stateline Stadium/Speedway
October 5, 2006

POST FALLS, IDAHO – October 5, 2006 – The 2006 racing season at Stateline Speedway came to a close Wednesday night with the final running of Wednesday Night Fever. Three champions were crowned during the finale; Craig O’Neal in the Road Runners, rookie KC Garber in the Fever 4’s and Yvonne Lifsey claiming her third Bump to Pass division title.

Brian Shaw passed heat winner Jamie Allen to score the 20-lap main event for the Road Runners. Dave Hatton finished third, dash winner Derek Colarusso fourth. Tom Harris won the C Heat and the B Main.

Craig O’Neal led the points heading into the final event after scoring numerous wins and top finishes throughout the season over Coeur d’ Alene’s Chuck Davidson. At the end O’Neal edged out Davidson in the main event finishing seventh to capture the 2006 Road Runner Championship over 71 other competitors.

The championship title is the first ever won for O’Neal at Stateline Speedway. Davidson who had equal success during 2006 season finished a slim six points behind in second. Dave Hatton was third in the standings. O’Neal’s fans celebrated the accomplishment by waiving lobsters in the air. The top twenty in the championship points will be honored at Stateline’s annual banquet.

Billy Husk, 2006 Champion Crew Chief of the Idaho 200, made an appearance in victory lane winning the Fever 4’s 25-lap main event as a driver. Colton Garber, the A Dash winner, battled up to second from the rear of the field, cousin KC Garber third. Andy Brown finished fourth with Mel Auckerman fifth. Husk also won the A Heat race with Terry Auckerman taking the B Dash and B Heat.

KC Garber’s third place run allowed him to keep his small advantage over Colton and defending champion Mel Auckerman to score his first championship at the track. Garber joins other family members that have accomplished the honor over the last 20-years including his uncles Dave and Dan.

After leading the points all season long up to last week, Colton Garber finished second in the standings only eight points behind his cousin. Mel Auckerman claimed third position, 19-points behind the champion.

Keith Williams finished the 2006 Bumper car season with his twelfth win of the season escaping a barrage of bumper clunking by fellow drivers in the 15-lap grand finale. Robby Cartwright finished second, James Cotter third. The “Crazy Taxi,” driven by Darryl Carillio rounded out the top five.

Athol, Idaho’s Yvonne Lifsey finished fourth in the finale and claimed the Bump to Pass championship title. The top sixteen in standings will be awarded at the banquet.

Stateline Speedway’s annual awards banquet, “A Night of Champions” will be held November 18 at the Red Lion Templins Resort on the River in Post Falls. Tickets can be ordered by calling 1-208-773-5019.

For more information about Stateline Stadium/Speedway including coming attractions, schedule of events, and competition rules, log onto or contact the event hotline at 208-773-5019.


Wednesday Night Fever – 10/4/06 Results

Fast Time – Russell Syverson, 16.69. Trophy Dash -- A) Derek Colarusso; B) Robb Boatsman; C) Treven Tarr; D) Tom Knapp. Heat -- A) Jamie Allen; B) Roman Gibson; C) Tom Harris; D) Knapp. B Main -- 1) Harris; 2) Steve Roth; 3) Ken Huck; 4) Heath Denson; 5) Rick Andrews; 6) Brycen Tarr; 7) Shane Zettle; 8) Darryl Krumm; 9) Knapp; 10) Lonnie Jenkins. A Main – 1) Brian Shaw; 2) Allen; 3) Dave Hatton; 4) Colarusso; 5) John Vallone; 6) Robert Benn; 7) Craig O’Neal; 8) Chuck Davidson; 9) Syverson; 10) Robin Mathis.

Fast Time – Keith Williams, 16.907. Trophy Dash -- 1) James Cotter. Heat -- A) Williams; B) Philip Clem. Main – 1) Williams; 2) Robby Cartwright; 3) James Cotter; 4) Yvonne Lifsey; 5) Darryl Carillio; 6) Jody Duncan; 7) Phil Clem; 8) Bob Willis; 9) Todd Jensen; 10) Monty Zema.

Fast Time – Tom Plybon, 15.966. Trophy Dash -- A) Colton Garber; B) Terry Auckerman. Heat – A) Billy Husk; B) T. Auckerman. Main -- 1) Husk; 2) C. Garber; 3) K. Garber; 4) Andy Brown; 5) Mel Auckerman; 6) Bruce Garber; 7) Rich Hatton; 8) Jason Schrofe; 9) Tracey Thomas; 10) Leo Crothers.


© 2006AJB Racing and AJB Motorsports Marketing. All rights reserved. Privacy PolicyTerms Of Use