Two Tracks, Two Events, Same Result for INSCA




Source: INSCA Media Relations


Spokane, WA (May 26, 2009) – The Inland Northwest Sprint Car Association brought their exciting version of pavement sprint car action to Stateline Speedway in Post Falls, Idaho on Saturday, May 23rd for the second race of the 2009 season.


Enjoying one of the warmer days that spring time has offered so far this year, the INSCA group fielded a star studded nine-car field for qualifying. The first car to take to the track was the winner of the season opening event one week earlier, Tony Berry in the B&B Motorsports entry who ran a lap of 12.128 seconds around the quarter mile oval. This established the mark to beat as the rest of the field took to the greasy surface. Justin Popple in the ACI Coatings, Lube Tube, Spokane Pump #19 was the next car out and laid down a solid lap of 12.221 seconds. There were ultimately several challengers for the top spot, but Berry and Popple held on to the top two positions when it was all said and done.


Lining up for the four car trophy dash, Dixon Helgeson had his HEI Motorsports, Lizard Chassis on the pole for the first time this season. Dixon missed the opening event of the 2009 season to attend the wedding of his son and long time INSCA member, Wes. Outside of row number one was the always formidable INC sponsored machine of Kevin Burck, followed by Popple and Berry . When the green flag waved Burck got the jump in the familiar gold number 65 and held on for an easy win, Berry was second, followed by Popple and Helgeson.


In the heat race Ephrata Raceway Park regular Kurt Meyer lead the field to the green and held the top spot throughout the eight lap event. Followed by 2008 INSCA runner-up Cole Tupling, 2004 INSCA Champion Mark Jones, Helgeson, Popple, Burck, Kudrna and Berry .


The main event lived up to its premier billing on the evening’s schedule as the INSCA series employs a full field invert within one second of fast time which had the fastest qualifiers start at the rear of the field. Kurt Meyer again brought the field to the green flag in the 25-lap feature event and jumped out to an early lead, followed by Jones and Tupling, but all eyes were on the Mackay Spinal Injury Foundation, Sir Speedy Printing Spokane, Country Place ,, Ed Nereaux Racing Engines #53 of Berry as he quickly began to dispatch with cars. Berry moved into third by the fourth circuit and stalked Jones for seven laps; finally making a move on the bottom entering turn one. Popple and Burck both waged their own war as they too moved towards the front. Berry got to the leader, Meyer’s back bumper on lap 14 and overtook the top spot with a pass on the outside coming out of turn two. Popple would get to third, but while battling an extremely loose racecar could not progress any further. The race was slowed twice for cautions featuring spins of Mark Jones and Dixon Helgeson. Ultimately it was Berry that would capture victory for the second time in as many weeks, second was Kurt Meyer after starting from the pole, Popple came home third, followed by Burck, Tupling, Helgeson, Donnie Kudrna, Jones and DNS Wesley Duren.


The exciting, ground pounding action of the INSCA is scheduled to return to action June 13th at Spokane County Raceway in Airway Heights , WA . For more information on the Inland Northwest Sprint Car Association visit or call either 800.336.2682 or 509.499.9582.


Fast Time: Tony Berry 12.128 seconds


Trophy Dash: Kevin Burck, Berry , Justin Popple, Dixon Helgeson


Heat race: Kurt Meyer, Cole Tupling, Mark Jones, Helgeson, Popple, Burck, Kudrna , Berry


Main 25-laps: Berry , Meyer, Popple, Burck, Tupling, Helgeson, Kudrna, Jones DNS Wesley Duren


© 2006AJB RacinReturn to Press Releasesg and AJB Motorsports Marketing. All rights reserved. Privacy PolicyTerms Of Use