Secord Crowned Northwest Nationals Winner


POST FALLS, IDAHO – June 22, 2008 – In the end it was California’s Eddie Secord who claimed the top spot in a full field of cars, winning the third annual Northwest Pro 4 Nationals part of the Pro 4 Alliance tour Saturday night at Stateline Speedway. Thirty teams from six different states were in contention for the crown.

Secord took the lead early in the 75-lap event when last year’s race winner John Grosvenor exited the race with mechanical problems while leading. Secord built up a large gap between second place until cautions and lapped traffic allowed Ron Rohde to challenge for position midway in the race pulling even with Secord but unable to complete the pass.

Inaugural Northwest Nationals race winner Steve Thompson of West Richland, Washington closed in on the lead during the final laps to apply pressure to the inside of Secord with 10-laps to go.

Secord prevailed holding a strong lower line through the turns to take the victory after a challenge on a restart. Thompson finished second Rob Powers third.

The win was Secord’s first victory at Stateline in only his second start. The win netted car owner Terry Rennick his second title at the Northwest Nationals. Rennick finished fourth driving a team car.

John Jackson finished fifth, the highest of local drivers. After running second the majority of the race Rohde finished sixth. Kameron McKeehan, Bud Rumsey, Cody Stewart, and Johnny Rumsey rounded out the top ten.

Utah’s Kurt Madsen won a dash along with Rob Golden. Tom Keehan and Tom Plybon won heats. Wayne Dillon set fast time and was one of the fastest cars during the main event but suffered mechanical problems late in the race. Mechanical problems also sidelined North Carolina’s Darren Shaw who was also a front runner early in the race.

In INSCA Winged Sprint action, Cole Tupling held off an aggressive pursuit by fast time driver Kevin Burck to win the 35-lap main event. The win is Tupling’s second of the season. Burck finished second followed by Justin Popple, Mike Fought, and heat winner Don Kudrna.

Tuesday Stateline Speedway hosts the second round of Northwest Legends Speedweeks. Large contingents of competitors are expected for the event that will be scored as a national qualifier. Events start at 6pm. Admission is $5.75.

Saturday the INSSA Super Stock Series takes to the track for the Windermere 100. The race will be a tune up for many competitors for Augusts’ NAPA Auto Parts Idaho 200. Hobby Cars, Street Stocks, and Early Stocks will also be on track. Events start at 6pm. Admission is $12.75; kids under the age of six are free.

July 3 Demolition Derby and Fireworks Extravaganza tickets are on sale now at Les Schwab Tires in Post Falls and at the track on race days.

The wild, wacky, unpredictable action of Wednesday Night Fever continues Wednesday at 6pm with the cars and superstars of the Road Runners, Fever 4’s, plus the wild and crazy Bump to Pass division. Adults are just $5.75; kids under the age of nine accompanied by adults are free.

For more information about Stateline Stadium/Speedway including upcoming events, promotions and participant updates log onto or contact the event hotline at 208-773-5019.

Stateline Stadium/Speedway
6/21/08 Results

Fast Time – Wayne Dillon, 13.887. Trophy Dash -- A) Kurt Madsen; B) Rob Golden. Heat – B) Tom Keehan; C) Tom Plybon. B Main – 1) Kenny Chandler; 2) Dan Hale; 3) Renny Morose; 4) Neal Latham; 5) Travis Allen. Main -- 1) Eddie Secord; 2) Steve Thompson; 3) Rob Powers; 4) Terry Rennick; 5) John Jackson; 6) Ron Rohde; 7) Kameron McKeehan; 8) Bud Rumsey; 9) Cody Stewart; 10) Johnny Rumsey.

Fast Time – Kevin Burck, 12.27. Trophy Dash – 1) Tony Berry. Heat – 1) Don Kudrna. Main – 1) Cole Tupling; 2) Burck; 3) Justin Popple; 4) Mike Fought; 5) Kudrna; 6) Berry; 7) TJ Wallin; 8) Rafael Kurek; 9) Ron Rohde

682 or 509.499.9582.


© 2006AJB RacinReturn to Press Releasesg and AJB Motorsports Marketing. All rights reserved. Privacy PolicyTerms Of Use