Behar Champion by One Point; Garber Race Winner


POST FALLS, IDAHO – September 24, 2006 – Dan Garber claimed his second win of the season during the Inland Northwest Super Stocks season finale Saturday Night at Stateline Speedway. Garber’s top position was not enough to secure the championship as Otis Orchards, Washington’s Mike Behar seized third place with 20 laps to go to secure his first INSSA title by just one point over Garber.

Heading into Saturday’s INSSA finale Dan Garber trailed leader Mike Behar by just seven points. At night’s end, the margin was one. Both drivers started deep in the field with 2006 Rookie of the Year Tony Berry taking the lead for the opening laps. Behar slipped deep in the pack during the first half of the race. Garber moved up to third. Behar fell behind Garber in the championship chase by nine points at one time.

Jack Morse, while running second, bobbled out of turn four on lap 39 with Garber tagging his rear bumper, sending Morse around. The spin allowed the pack of cars to bunch up and Behar a position gained in points.

Garber passed brother Dave and Berry after the restart on lap 51 to take the lead. Dave Garber and Berry slipped back in the field. Behar passed Berry to tie the point race and then slipped by Dave Garber to claim third and the one point lead.

Garber won the race. Andy Brown was second, followed by Behar in third, claiming the championship. Ron Turner managed a fourth place run after contact with the wall. Jeff Little rounded out the top five.

Behar celebrated his first ever title with his father and crew on the front stretch after a victory burnout.

Hobby Stock point leader Rob Ballard’s championship hopes came crashing down on him, literally. Ballard, who needed to finish the next two races to secure another championship, was running mid-pack during the opening laps of the Hobby Stock 20-lap main when JC Ward was tagged from behind.

Ward careened into a safety barrier on the backstretch catapulting in the air. Ballard with no where to go served as a landing pad as Ward’s airborne car returned to the ground on top of Ballard. Both drivers walked away from the incident.

Brain Husk won the eventful race coming within 53 points of Ballard. Ballard will need to start and finish next weekend’s events to retain his top spot and championship.

Spokane’s Nathan Fleury won the Street Stock’s dash, heat and main event after race leader Darryl Carillio’s tire came off while leading. It was Fleury’s second win on the season

On Wednesday, the wild, wacky, unpredictable action of Wednesday Night Fever takes place at 6pm with Fever 4’s, Road Runners, plus the cars and superstars of the Bump to Pass division. Adults are just $5.75; kids under the age of nine accompanied by adults are free.

Two point races highlight the evening. Craig O’Neal leads Chuck Davidson by only ten points. In the Fever 4’s, three drivers, defending champion Mel Auckerman, leader Colton Garber and KC Garber look for the title.

Championships are on the line as Winged Sprints led by Kevin Burck undefeated in the last four races, Hobby Cars and Street Stocks square off for the final Saturday night race of the season during the season championships at Stateline Speedway this Saturday. Qualifying starts at 6pm racing at 7:30pm. Adult admission is $10, Family Passes are $25 and admit two adults and up to three children.

For more information about Stateline Stadium/Speedway including coming attractions, schedule of events, and competition rules, log onto or contact the event hotline at 208-773-5019.


Stateline Speedway Saturday Night – 9/23/06 Results

Fast Time – Mike Behar, 13.194. Trophy Dash – A) Dave Garber; B) Jack Morse. Heat – A) Bodie Morton; B) Corey Allard. A Main -- 1) Dan Garber; 2) Andy Brown; 3) Mike Behar; 4) Ron Turner; 5) Jeff Little; 6) Dave Garber; 7) Corey Allard; 8) Jack Morse; 9) Tony Berry; 10) Bodie Morton.

Fast Time – Nathan Fleury, 14.719. Trophy Dash -- 1) Mike Burshard. Heat -- 1) Fleury. A Main – 1) Fleury; 2) Burshard; 3) Clayton Wood; 4) John Burton; 5) Pat McSpadden; 6) Charlie Fiorino; 7) Randy Lasswell; 8) Darryl Carillio.

Fast Time – Rob Ballard, 16.078. Trophy Dash -- A) Monty Collison; B) Kyle Kennedy. Heat -- A) JC Ward; B) Kennedy. Main – 1) Brian Husk; 2) Ned Pennington; 3) Collison; 4) Kennedy; 5) Tyson Wilcox; 6) Ryan Tarr; 7) Bob Flagor; 8) Dave Harrison; 9) Gil Rapp; 10) John Ward.





© 2006AJB RacinReturn to Press Releasesg and AJB Motorsports Marketing. All rights reserved. Privacy PolicyTerms Of Use